arrow_drop_up arrow_drop_down

About the Conference

5 – 7 December 2017, Berlin, Germany

ALGAEUROPE offers an unique opportunity for the exchange between academia and industry. The conference will be established in a networking based environment that allows discussions on the evolution of the Algae Biomass sector worldwide and understand the role of the main European Players.

Algae are the new crop for the future. Algae contain proteins, lipids, carbohydrates, minerals, vitamins and other elements that can be used as ingredients for a large range of sectors from food & feed to nutraceutical & cosmeceuticals to biofuels. Algo-biorefineries can maximize the potential of algae applications and open new opportunities. The valorization of added-value products from algae is setting the conditions for the development of small or niche markets, which eventually can grow to larger scale.

Currently, there are in Europe several projects, from lab scale to demonstration plants and commercial facilities, aiming to accelerate the commercialization of algal products. The long path from research to pilot plants and production facilities will be shown in several presentations including some of the most relevant projects financed by the EC.

ALGAEUROPE 2017 is a unique opportunity to learn and understand the bottlenecks of algae production and commercialization and interact with the key players.

ALGAEUROPE 2017 will be a unique opportunity for all stakeholders to be up-dated on the recent industrial developments in the field with an overview of European initiatives. Keynote presentations and panel discussion will provide a high quality forum for discussion and information exchange.

Key drivers: Production to Products & Consumer trends to Product development and Business opportunities.

ALGAEUROPE entails the third EABA and EC Algae Contractors’ Conference, and the 10th International Algae Congress. The conference is organised by EABA, the European Commission and DLG BENELUX.

AlgaEurope’s conference co-chairs

Vitor Verdelho, Kyriakos Maniatis and Paulien Hoftijzer

The 2017 organizing committee

  • Vitor Verdelho (Portugal)
  • Kyriakos Maniatis (EC)
  • Mario R. Tredici (Italy)
  • Paulien Hoftijzer (The Netherlands)
  • Christie de Vrij (The Netherlands)
  • Birgit Schmidt-Puckhaber (Germany)
  • Liliana Rodolfi (Italy)
  • Gabriel Acien (Spain)
  • Joana Lapa (Portugal)
  • Szilvia Bozsoki (EC)

The 2017 scientific committee

  • Chair: Mario Tredici – University of Florence (Italy)
  • René Wijffels – Wageningen UR (Netherlands)
  • David Chiaramonti – RECORD/CREAR (Italy)
  • Sammy Boussiba – Ben Gurion University (Israel)
  • Alison Smith – University of Cambridge (UK)
  • Jean Paul Cadoret – Greensea (France)
  • Emilio Molina Grima – University of Almeria (Spain)
  • Natascia Biondi – University of Florence (Italy)
  • Olaf Kruse – University of Bielefeld (Germany)
  • Patrik Jones – Imperial College London (UK)
  • Guido Reinhart – IFEU (Germany)
  • Jack Legrand – University of Nantes (France)
  • Ulrike Schimd-Staiger – Frauenhofer IGB (Germany)
  • Michele Stanley – SAMS (UK)
  • Patrick Sorgeloos – University of Ghent (Belgium)
  • John Benemann – Algal Biomass Association (USA)