arrow_drop_up arrow_drop_down

Although algae are widely used in biotechnology and agriculture in Europe and worldwide, and the term algae appears in multiple legal documents, the term as such is poorly defined. Algae are very diverse group of organisms, found almost everywhere on the planet. Based on common use the term algae includes representatives from prokariotes (the cyanobacteria) and from several kingdoms of the eukariotes, whereby no scientific agreement currently exists on the exact taxonomic classification of those multiple  eukaryote kingdoms.

Every year the European algae scene meets at the AlgaEurope conference. AlgaEurope offers a unique opportunity for an exchange between academia and industry, established in a networking-based environment that will explore sector’s evolution worldwide as well as the main European players. Currently, there are several European projects, from lab scale to demonstration plants and commercial facilities, aiming to accelerate the commercialization of algal products.

Check out all participating companies in 2020.

AlgaEurope 2021 will take place from 7-9 December in Rome! Website updated shortly.


The Conference Chairs:

Jean-Paul Cadoret -  EABA President / ALGAMA (France)
Vitor Verdelho - EABA General Manager / A4F, SA (Portugal)

Kuno Jacobs -  DLG BENELUX (The Netherlands)


Sammy Boussiba - Ben-Gurion University of the Negev (Israel)

Gabriel Acien - University of Almeria (Spain)

Alexandra Mosch - Growing SMEs (Germany)

Honorary President

Mario Tredici - UNIFI / University of Florence (Italy)

The Steering Board

Andrew Spicer - Algenuity Ltd. (UK)

Carlos Unamunzaga - Fitoplancton Marino S.L. (Spain)

Richard van Kranenbur- Corbion Biotech, Inc. (The Netherlands) 

Joachim Henjes - Alfred-Wegener-Institut (Germany)

John Benemann - Individual Member (USA)

Liliana Rodolfi - UNIFI / University of Florence / F&M, S.r.l. (Italy)

Luis Costa - A4F AlgaFuel, S.A. (Portugal)

Silvio Mangini - Archimede Ricerche S.r.l. (Italy) 

The Scientific Committee

Alison Smith - Cambridge University (United Kingdom)

David Chiaramonti - RE-CORD (Italy)

Graziella Chini Zittelli - CNR–IRET (Italy)

Herminia Rodríguez - University of Seville/IBVF (Spain)

Jack Legrand - University of Nantes (France)

Jean-François Sass- CEA (France)

Jiri Masojidek - Institute of Microbiology (Czech Republic)

Leen Bastiaens - VITO (Belgium)
Maria Barbosa - WUR (The Netherlands)

Michele Stanley - SAMS (United Kingdom)

Olaf Kruse - University of Bielefeld (Germany)

Olivier Bernard - INRIA-BIOCORE (France)

Ulrike Schmid-Staiger - Fraunhofer-IGB (Germany)

The Industry Committee

Andrea Moro - Livegreen (Italy)

Arin Nair - AstaReal AB (Sweden)

Carlos Casanovas - Monzón Biotech, S.L. (Spain)

Carlos Rodríguez - Villa Forster - AlgaEnergy (Spain)

Edgar Santos - A4F AlgaFuel, S.A. (Portugal)

Hywel Griffiths - Fermentalg, S.A. (France)

João Navalho - Necton, S.A. (Portugal)

Joe McDonald - Varicon Aqua Solutions Ltd. (UK)

Olivier Lépine - Algosource Technologies, SAS (France)

Pedro Escudero - BuggyPower, Lda. (Portugal)

Pi Nyvall Collen - Olmix, S.A. (France)

Robert Reinhardt - AlgEn, d.o.o. (Slovenia)

Subscribe to our newsletter !

Stay updated on the latest alage developments!

AlgaEurope 2020 Organizers:

AlgaEurope 2020 Sponsor:


AlgaEurope 2020 Media Partners